Three Tools for Creating your Mind Maps

Impressions about MindManager, FreeMind and CMapTools

I have not tried these tools before, neither their computer version nor the mobile one. However, in order to learn a little bit about them, I have downloaded them to my mobile and I have worked with them during this week. These are my impressions about them:

  • MindManager:

This tool has more than one million downloads and a score of 4 points out of 5 in Google Play. Nowadays it is one of the best values tool for mind maps. However, there are many comments on the net that say that Mindjet doesn’t goes very well when working with the mobile version. It seems that there are some problems with the templates and the synchronization with Dropbox.

My experience is that it is a very intuitive app. I found it simpler than the computer version and it is faster to learn. You can create a simple map in just 5 minutes.

Mind

However, when I try to recuperate the project that I have written before with the normal version, there were many problems. It spent a lot of time, and when I got to open it, it was all wrong. The connections weren’t correct, the colours had changed and everything was a mess. There were warnings saying that some features are only supported on Mindjet Web accounts.

MINDJET

So, I coincide with the comments I read: the mobile version, although simpler, it’s not good when opening Dropbox files.

  • FreeMind:

Freemind is an open source mind mapping tool built in Java, and is available for Windows, Mac and Linux. It has a wide variety of features, including location-based mind mapping, collaboration tools, restore session support and more.

It can be used to keep track of projects as a knowledge base, and as a powerful mind mapping tool for complex diagrams with numerous branches, including embedded links and multimedia. You can export your map as HTML, PDF, OpenDocument, SVG or PNG. FreeMind auto-layout makes searching clean and useable.

First, I downloaded the computer version http://sourceforge.net/projects/freemind/files/freemind/1.0.1/FreeMind-Windows-Installer-1.0.1-max.exe/download?use_mirror=netcologne&download=

Then I made a simple map about some of the databases that appears in unit 2 and exported to other formats: .jpg, .pdf…

When I downloaded the mobile version I have some difficulties. The first one was that in Google Play there were two apps available: FreMind Reader and FreeMind Viewer Free. I tried the first one. I accessed my Dropbox (you can also use your Drive), selected the file and I could see it in my phone. This app is used only to visualize.

FreeMind.jpg

After that, I downloaded the second app. This app is used to create your maps, but it is very simple. I hasn’t got many options although it is easy to learn.

The worst part of all: it is full of advertisements (as you can see in the pictures I attach).

  • CMapTools:

I downloaded this tool and started to try it. One of the things that I like is that I could access to many models that people share on the net. This way it is easy for me to have a global vision about the kinds of maps that you can create.  You can also share your maps and upload them to the Cloud, and other platforms.

CMapTools.jpg

The difference with respect to other tools is that you can add web links, so it is more useful because you can access directly to those resources easily and from wherever you are. It is simple to use. However, I could not find a mobile version. When I tried to download this tool it always said that it was not possible to open the file. It seems that this app is only available for Windows Mac, Linux and Solaris, not for Android.

Now it is your turn to decide. Which one do you prefer? Do you know other tools? Thank you in advance for sharig your comments.

Leave a Reply

